The story behind LucyBalu x Choupette

How does a young, Munich-based startup company get the opportunity to work with Karl Lagerfeld’s cat? What sounds like a fairytale has become our reality. Here we reminisce about how this story began, and what is behind this exclusive LucyBalu x Choupette cooperation.

Designer Karl Lagerfeld has left his marks in the fashion industry. There is no doubt that the style icon was among the most influential designers of his time. He stayed true to his style while always being curious. Karl Lagerfeld was an advocate of clarity, and he represented clear standpoints. He stayed true to himself until the very end, which is also why he was a true inspiration to us.


His cat, Choupette, was his great love. The designer once said he would marry Choupette if it wasn’t illegal. This special liaison is the reason for Choupette’s fame all around the world. Today, the beautiful, blue-eyed Birman cat lives with Françoise Caçote, who herself was very close with Karl Lagerfeld. We can say from our own experience that you can somehow feel Karl Lagerfeld’s aura as soon as you are in a room with Choupette.


Choupette Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld und Choupette

Choupette mit Deli Futternapf von LucyBalu


The beginning of our collaboration with Choupette

We founded LucyBalu in 2019, and we are just at the beginning of our mission. Working together with Choupette was THE opportunity for us to introduce our modern pieces of cat furniture to the world. At the beginning of 2020, after a few attempts, we were able to contact Choupette’s agent. We could convince him to give our startup a chance and to let us to send one of our cat hammocks to Françoise.
Francoise with Choupette

Choupette’s new favorite place


Everything that followed exceeded our expectations. Choupette chose our hammock as her new favorite place, and Choupette’s family was impressed by our story and products. Our dream became reality overnight. Together with Choupette we designed a special edition of our SWING hammock, a limited edition which is meant to do Karl Lagerfeld’s style code justice.


LucyBalu Choupette

LucyBalu meets Choupette in Paris


It was very important to us to photograph Choupette in her natural environment as opposed to a studio. This led to us visiting Choupette in Paris in the summer of 2020, where we spent three whole days with her and her team. It was the first time ever that someone outside Choupette’s family was allowed to take pictures and videos within Choupette’s new home. What an unforgettable trip to Paris for us.

LucyBalu Choupette Limited Edition

LucyBalu x Choupette


Not only did we create a unique product, but we also developed a friendship with Françoise, Choupette, and the entire #teamchoupette. We are extremely proud of this entire project and we look forward to working together on future projects. The special edition of our SWING hammock is the beginning of the LucyBalu x Choupette cooperation.

Die Story hinter LucyBalu x Choupette

Wie kommt ein junges Münchner Startup dazu, mit der Katze von Karl Lagerfeld zu kooperieren? Was wie ein Märchen klingt, ist für uns Realität geworden. Wie es zu dieser Geschichte gekommen ist und was hinter der exklusiven Kooperation LucyBalu x Choupette steckt, erzählen wir auf dieser Seite.

Der Designer Karl Lagerfeld hat in der Modebranche Spuren hinterlassen. Der „Kaiser“ gehörte unumstritten zu den einflussreichsten Designern seiner Zeit. Er ist seinem Stil treu und dennoch ewig neugierig geblieben. Karl Lagerfeld stand für Klarheit und hat klare Standpunkte vertreten. Er ist sich bis zum Schluss treu geblieben. Auch dadurch ist er für uns zu einer wichtigen Inspirationsfigur geworden.


Choupette, sein Katze, war auch seine große Liebe. Der Modezar sagte einmal, er würde Choupette heiraten, wenn es legal wäre. Durch diese besondere Liaison ist Choupette weltweit bekannt geworden. Die schöne blauäugige Birma-Katze lebt heute abgeschirmt von der Öffentlichkeit bei Françoise Caçote, die Karl Lagerfeld selbst sehr nahestand. Aus eigener Erfahrung können wir sagen, dass man auf eine gewisse Weise die Aura von Karl Lagerfeld spürt, wenn man in einem Raum mit Choupette ist.


Choupette Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld und Choupette

Choupette mit Deli Futternapf von LucyBalu


Wie es zur Zusammenarbeit mit Choupette kam

Wir haben LucyBalu im Jahr 2019 gegründet und sind erst am Anfang unserer Mission. Eine Kooperation mit Choupette war für uns DIE Möglichkeit, der Welt unsere modernen Katzenmöbel näher zu bringen. Nach mehreren Anläufen gelang es uns Anfang 2020 Kontakt zum Agenten von Choupette aufzunehmen. Wir konnten ihn davon überzeugen, unserem Startup eine Chance zu geben und eine unserer Hängematten an Françoise zu schicken.
Francoise with Choupette

Neuer Lieblingsplatz von Choupette


Was danach kam, übertraf alle Erwartungen. Choupette wählte unsere Hängematte als ihren neuen Lieblingsplatz aus. Und die Choupette-Familie war begeistert von unserer Geschichte und unseren Produkten. Aus einem Traum wurde über Nacht Realität. Gemeinsam entwarfen wir für Choupette die Sonderedition der SWING Hängematte. Eine Limited Edition, die dem Style-Codex eines Karl Lagerfelds gerecht werden sollte.


LucyBalu Choupette

LucyBalu trifft Choupette in Paris


Für uns war es wichtig, Choupette in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung und nicht in einem Fotostudio zu fotografieren. Im Sommer 2020 haben wir Choupette daher in Paris besucht. Wir haben drei ganze Tage mit ihr und ihrem Team verbracht. Das erste Mal überhaupt durfte jemand Fremdes Fotos und Filmaufnahmen in Choupettes‘ neuem Zuhause machen. Für uns war es ein unvergesslicher Trip nach Paris.

LucyBalu Choupette Limited Edition

LucyBalu x Choupette


Entstanden ist nicht nur ein einzigartiges Produkt, sondern auch eine Freundschaft mit Françoise, Choupette und dem gesamten #teamchoupette. Das ganze Projekt macht uns unglaublich stolz und wir freuen uns auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit. Die Sonderedition der SWING Hängematte ist der Kooperationsbeginn von LucyBalu x Choupette.